Elderly women exercising

Find A Class Near You

Online
OR

Showing 21 results for all classes sorted by date

Don't see a desired class near you? More classes are coming soon. Call us at 1-800-620-6036 or email info@healthylivingforme.org to be connected to a representative and added to our waiting list.

Living Well with Diabetes

August 25, 2022 - September 29, 2022
1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Cohen Community Center

Cost: $0
Primary Language: English
Class Leaders: Jen Paquet, Libby Matthews, Monica Lizotte

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Thursday, August 25, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, September 1, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, September 8, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, September 15, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, September 22, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Thursday, September 29, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Living Well with Diabetes is designed to help people with type 2 diabetes learn how to live well. Topics include: techniques to deal with the symptoms of diabetes, fatigue, pain, hyper/hypoglycemia, stress, depression, anger, fear and frustration; appropriate exercise for maintaining and improving strength and endurance; healthy eating, appropriate use of medication; and working with healthcare providers.

Notes:
This program is provided by Spectrum Generations, a Healthy Living for ME partner.

Register

A Matter of Balance

August 29, 2022 - September 26, 2022
2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

Cost: $0
Primary Language: English
Class Leaders: Jen Paquet, Monica Lizotte

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Monday, August 29, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday, August 31, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday, September 7, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Monday, September 12, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday, September 14, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Monday, September 19, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Wednesday, September 21, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Monday, September 26, 2022 2:00 PM - 4:00 PM

A Matter of Balance emphasizes practical strategies to reduce fear of falling and increase activity levels. Participants learn to view falls and fear of falling as controllable, set realistic goals to increase activity, change their environment to reduce fall risk factors, and exercise to increase strength and balance.

Notes:
This workshop is open to residents of the Kennebec Plaza, and is provided by Spectrum Generations, a Healthy Living for ME partner.

Register

Living Well for Better Health

September 06, 2022 - October 11, 2022
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

Fort Fairfield Public Library

Cost: $0
Primary Language: English
Class Leaders: Dianna Leighton, Callie Rogers

Contact Name: Callie Rogers
Contact Phone: 2077606258

Tuesday, September 6, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, September 13, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, September 20, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, October 11, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

This program is designed to help participants deal with chronic conditions. Topics include: techniques to deal with frustration, fatigue, pain and isolation, appropriate exercise for maintaining and improving strength, flexibility, and endurance, appropriate use of medications, communicating effectively with family, friends, and health professionals, nutrition, and how to evaluate new treatments.

Notes:
This workshop is provided by Aroostook Agency on Aging, a Healthy Living for ME partner.

Register

Bingocize®

September 12, 2022 - November 21, 2022
10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Merrymeeting Adult Education

Cost: $0
Primary Language: English
Class Leaders: Jen Paquet, Monica Lizotte

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Monday, September 12, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, September 14, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, September 19, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, September 21, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, September 26, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, September 28, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, October 3, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, October 5, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, October 12, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, October 17, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, October 19, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, October 24, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, October 26, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, October 31, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, November 2, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, November 7, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, November 9, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, November 14, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Wednesday, November 16, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Monday, November 21, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Bingocize combines a bingo-like game with exercise and health education. The program has been shown to increase older adults' functional fitness, health knowledge, and social engagement.

Notes:
This workshop is provided by Spectrum Generations, a Healthy Living for ME partner.

Register

Bingocize®

September 13, 2022 - November 22, 2022
10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Caribou Wellness Center

Cost: $0
Primary Language: English
Class Leader: Callie Rogers

Contact Name: Callie Rogers
Contact Phone: 2077606258

Tuesday, September 13, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, September 15, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Tuesday, September 20, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, September 22, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Tuesday, September 27, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, September 29, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Tuesday, October 4, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, October 6, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Tuesday, October 11, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Tuesday, October 18, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, October 20, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Tuesday, October 25, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, October 27, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Tuesday, November 1, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, November 3, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Tuesday, November 8, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, November 10, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Tuesday, November 15, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Thursday, November 17, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM
Tuesday, November 22, 2022 10:00 AM - 11:00 AM

Bingocize combines a bingo-like game with exercise and health education. The program has been shown to increase older adults' functional fitness, health knowledge, and social engagement.

Notes:
This workshop is provided by Aroostook Agency on Aging, a Healthy Living for ME partner.

Register

Living Well with Chronic Pain

November 07, 2022 - December 12, 2022
1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Cost: $50 for non members
Primary Language: English
Class Leaders: Jen Paquet, Monica Lizotte

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Monday, November 7, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Monday, November 14, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Monday, November 21, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Monday, November 28, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Monday, December 5, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Monday, December 12, 2022 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

This class is designed for people who have a diagnosis of chronic pain, offering strategies for dealing with their symptoms. Topics include: techniques to deal with frustration, fatigue, isolation, and poor sleep, appropriate exercise for maintaining and improving strength, appropriate use of medications, communicating effectively with family, friends, and health professionals, nutrition, pacing activity and rest, and how to evaluate new treatments.

Register

Living Well with HIV+

November 08, 2022 - December 13, 2022
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

Online


Cost: $0
Primary Language: English
Class Leaders: Jennifer Fortin, Jen Paquet, Monica Lizotte

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Tuesday, November 8, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, November 15, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, November 22, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, November 29, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, December 6, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Tuesday, December 13, 2022 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

This program was designed for individuals managing HIV and their caregivers/natural supports. Topics include: medication management, techniques to deal with frustration, fear, fatigue, pain and isolation, communicating effectively with family, friends, and health professionals, sex, intimacy, and disclosure, nutrition, evaluating symptoms, advanced directives, and decision-making. Program participants make weekly action plans, share experiences, and help each other solve problems they encounter in creating and carrying out their self-management program.

Register

Living Well with Chronic Pain

January 10, 2023 - February 14, 2023
1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

Cost: $0
Primary Language: English
Class Leaders: Jen Paquet, Monica Lizotte

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Tuesday, January 10, 2023 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday, January 17, 2023 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday, January 24, 2023 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday, January 31, 2023 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday, February 7, 2023 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday, February 14, 2023 1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

This class is designed for people who have a diagnosis of chronic pain, offering strategies for dealing with their symptoms. Topics include: techniques to deal with frustration, fatigue, isolation, and poor sleep, appropriate exercise for maintaining and improving strength, appropriate use of medications, communicating effectively with family, friends, and health professionals, nutrition, pacing activity and rest, and how to evaluate new treatments.

Notes:
This workshop is open to residents of the Kennebec Plaza, and is provided by Spectrum Generations, a Healthy Living for ME partner.

Register

Building Better Caregivers

January 11, 2023 - February 15, 2023
10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

Merrymeeting Adult Education

Cost: $0
Primary Language: English
Class Leaders: Jennifer Fortin, Jen Paquet

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Wednesday, January 11, 2023 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, January 18, 2023 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, January 25, 2023 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, February 1, 2023 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, February 8, 2023 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM
Wednesday, February 15, 2023 10:00 AM - 12:30 PM

This program was designed for family caregivers of people with an Acquired Brain Injury (ABI), Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), dementia, and/or any other condition that affects memory. Topics include: caregiver stress, dealing with difficult care partner behavior, finding help, making decisions about treatment, housing, etc., communicating effectively with family, friends, and health professionals, dealing with caregiver and care partner difficult emotions, planning for future needs, and legal issues related to caregiving. Program participants make weekly action plans, share experiences, and help each other solve problems they encounter in creating and carrying out their self-management program.

Notes:
This workshop is provided by Spectrum Generations, a Healthy Living for ME partner.

Register

Bingocize®

May 16, 2023 - July 25, 2023
1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

Cost: $10 suggested donation
Primary Language: English
Class Leaders: Jen Paquet, Monica Lizotte

Contact Name: Jen Paquet
Contact Phone: (207) 620-1642

Tuesday, May 16, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, May 18, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Tuesday, May 23, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, May 25, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Tuesday, May 30, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, June 1, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Tuesday, June 6, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, June 8, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Tuesday, June 13, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, June 15, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Tuesday, June 20, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, June 22, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Tuesday, June 27, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, June 29, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, July 6, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Tuesday, July 11, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, July 13, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Tuesday, July 18, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Thursday, July 20, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM
Tuesday, July 25, 2023 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM

Bingocize combines a bingo-like game with exercise and health education. The program has been shown to increase older adults' functional fitness, health knowledge, and social engagement.

Register